Best of 2010

I can’t believe the end of the year is really here!  I swear the older you get the quicker the year seems to fly by.  I still haven’t heard anything about signing up for the 2011 WClub, but as soon as that info comes out (hopefully tomorrow?) I’ll post here.  I’m definitely looking forward to a new year FULL of amazing dolls!

So for a final post, I thought I’d post my personal favs from this past year.  I don’t collect every character, so I’d love to hear who your favorites are from this past year too!  So here are mine:

Runner UP – Always Polished Dasha

– I’m only keeping her out of the official top 10 because I feel like she’s a sneak peek at the 2011 FR2 line and not part of the 2010 dolls, but definitely an amazing doll released this year that needs to be spotlighted!  She was a little underated at first until people started taking her hair down and redressing her, and now she’s one hot little mama!

#10 – Lady Like Amelie

– Definitely my favorite Misaki released this year!  And to think I wasn’t an Amelie fan before her, LOL.  The outfit, the hair, the little square framed glasses & her purple teddy bear just screamed “buy me!”

#9 – Chill Factor Aria

– Maybe it’s because I was so upset that she wasn’t part of the VV collection and I was (im)patiently waiting for her return that made her a favorite, but I think it’s because she looks amazing in this incarnation!  Back to her original tan skin and blond hair, this little latina beauty in her cute blue winter wear is one of my favs this year!  So much so that I haven’t even redressed her, which you know is hard for me to do!

#8 – Vintage Vinyl Reese

– I’m so happy with the newly revamped DG’s!  At first I was a little unsure, but now I’m a happy camper.  And Reese… well she debuted as a little sassy thing in this collection!  She can pull of cute & girly or hot & sexy and either way this girl rocks!

#7, 6, 5 – Great Pretender Lilith & the Wild At Heart Twins

– I think GP turned into a sorta-sleeper hit like her sister Style Mantra Eden from the year before.  I just adore this doll in pretty much anything!  Her platinum hair and soft makeup are sheer perfection.  And I’m throwing the convention twins in here too since they all share the same face mold.  It was definitely great to get these girls as a set again this year!

 

#4 – Spring Forward Eugenia

– Despite her blue eye shadow, I totally adore this doll! I have 2 of her, one with shorter hair & bangs & on a NF body, but the original is still a fab doll.  Maybe it’s the nude lips with that gorgeous soft hair?  I’m not sure, maybe it’s just because I love Eugenia, LOL, but she’s definitely made the top 5 for me!

#3 – Dark Romance Giselle

– Who I’m sure will be even better once she comes back to me rerooted as a raven! Another big thanks to Deron for being a wonderful dolly friend & amazing rerooter to me this year, I can’t wait to see her completed! But even as a blond, she was definitely the highlight of my convention dolls!!!! 

#2 – Venus Eugenia

– Definitely the best trade I’ve done in my collecting “career”!!  I let a good one go, but this was one I never thought I’d obtain!  Thanks again to Rocco for this amazing doll!

Dun, Dun, Dun… and #1 (of course) is Bergdorf Poppy

Hands down THE. BEST. DOLL. EVER.  (so far, LOL) – so I have to give an especially BIG thank you to Joy in my local doll club for grabbing an extra doll for me!  I am forever dolly-indebted to you!  And as you know, this doll canNOT take a bad picture because YES… she is that amazing! 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Fashion Royalty and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Best of 2010

  1. Marie says:

    Oh yes. Poppy Parker is realy the winner. I think so.
    I enjoy your blog and I wish you happy holiday.

  2. shugashug says:

    Happy Holiday’s to you Marie! Glad you’re enjoying the blog!

  3. Samantha says:

    I want to say thank you for being a great dolly friend this year, I really apprieciate it!!
    I hope Santa was good to you?
    You are right Bergdorf Poppy is amazing!! That face!! I wish they’d make more like her.
    For me this was the year of the DG!! I LOVE them!!
    I love the outfit on Venus Eugenia! You always manage to capture the dolls personality!!
    Here’s to 2011 being the best year yet, in all aspects of life!! 🙂 x

  4. Fil_f&f says:

    I would also like to thank you Shuga for having this blog and being such a wonderful person! Who knows, maybe if it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t enter this dolly madness this year and meet so many great people and end up at the Convention across the Atlantic 😉 My manhood has been dragged through mud a bit since then, but who cares 😛

    Hope you have a great year in every aspect of your life and we will meet in Chicago in October!!! :-]

  5. shugashug says:

    Aww, thank you Filip, it was a pleasure to meet you and next time we will have more time to hang out!

  6. Susan K. says:

    Awesome Top Ten (including the “Honourable Mention” Dasha! lol). Just wanted to say how much I love this blog (and thanks for doing the Clear-Lan “run” for everyone this year, too!). Can’t wait to see your photos and all the up-to-date info in 2011!

  7. shugashug says:

    Thanks Susan! Glad you are enjoying the clearlan clothing. Such great prices that you almost can’t pass them up!

  8. Carine says:

    Shuga-Shug you’ve managed to get some of the best dolls this year. Your Poppy is so stunning and the twins can never do wrong. Thanks for the blog, fun updates and then some…..

    Best wishes to you in the New Year!!

Leave a Reply

