Hospitality

Have you ever done some of those tests that reveal what your personality giftings are?  They help you in determining a career and giving greater insight into yourself?  Well I did a pretty in depth one several years ago and my highest ratings (in the 90’s) was HOSPITALITY.  It’s defined as follows: 

“Hospitality is the relationship between a guest and a host, or the act or practice of being hospitable. that is, the reception and entertainment of guests, visitors, or strangers, with liberality and goodwill.”

I also scored highly in teaching and helps, which is probably why I’m loving the field of chinese medicine because I’m helping and also teaching my patients at the same time.  Anyway, it was funny because after the party was over, the hubster said “You’re gift of Hospitality sure came out tonight!”.  The party went off without a hitch and everyone who was invited actually came! yay!  I was literally still plating food as people were arriving, and the oohing & aahing began over the table setup, so I was only able to take a few quick pics.  I even got asked to handle a couple of parties next year too, which was a compliment (and some doll spending money)! 

And just to help out other hosts & hostesses out there, I’ll tell you how the rest of the house was setup.  You’ve got to think about everything your guests could possibly need.  I had our bedroom setup as the “coat room”.  I had a rolling rack (that we normally use in our garage to hang clothes to dry) setup with hangers for everyone to hang their coats on.  And I had a bench from outside brought in, which I covered with a small tablecloth for all the ladies to set their purses on.

We had 4 babies under the age of 1 and two 3 year olds in attendance, so I setup my doll room as the “baby room”.  Everyone could drop their baby bags & carriers on the floor in there and I setup a small 4 foot long table as the changing table.  I just covered 2/3 of the table with a folded thick blanket & then a bath towel on top of that.  I put a small covered bin lined with a trash bag under the table to hold the dirty diapers.  My guests with babies were very appreciative of the setup!  Plus all the moms in there were going crazy for the dolls, LOL.  Hey, gotta make more collectors!

We moved around our outdoor patio furniture towards the center in small conversation areas and had 2 space heaters set up since it was cold and rainy outside.  Then of course the living room was all decked out and we had a fire going.  All in all it was a nice ambience in there!

Oh, and because I know you were waiting, the cups.  So we bought these “nose” cups that when you’re drinking and have the cup up to your face, it’s like you’ve got a different nose.  We had it setup like a game with each type of nose under an outer cup so you couldn’t see.  People would come in and “Pick a Nose” cup which would be their cup for the entire night.  Each one was labeled differently and people were hilarious trying to decide on which they wanted.  Then of course everyone was laughing and photographing themselves with the cup up to their face.  It was a big hit and everyone wanted to know where I got them from.  They’re made by the FRED company and I absolutely love everything they put out!!  I’ve got so much stuff of theirs, ice cube trays, measuring cups, uni”corn” holders, etc. – it’s all such fun and great conversation pieces for parties!  And all the party printables are by BirdCrafts on Etsy (which I love!)

Well thanks for reading this lengthy post!  I’m off to eat some breakfast and photograph my Trico pieces before I head out to do some Christmas shopping.  xoxo – Shuga

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Styling A Party and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hospitality

  1. Chris says:

    You’re pretty amazing

  2. piscessiren says:

    How was the Red Velvet Cheesecake??????

    You need to write a book. Martha Stewart watch out!

    Lovely Holiday tablescape and the food looks beyond delicious!

    = )

  3. shugashug says:

    The biggest hit was the cheesecake!!! 2 were made and its all gone! Really a great recipe if anyone wants to try!

  4. Fil_f&f says:

    Amazing job Shuga! You should own your little Shuga-hotel where you could take care of your guests for a living! I know that you have other plans connected with medicine, but maybe when you retire in a far far far future 🙂

  5. shugashug says:

    Actually I’ve thought about working with patients in a place where they can stay for awhile. Like a retreat or something, like when people with addictions go and stay for a month somewhere. I’d so love to run a bed and breakfast too!

  6. Fil_f&f says:

    Uuuuu… that is a great idea to combine those two. Good thinkin’! I cross my fingers for it to come true…

  7. Carine says:

    Wow, the presentation is lovely and everything looks delicious. Must have been fun for the guests.

  8. DeeBlue says:

    Wow! You’ve definitely got a talent there – another one! It’s all done so perfectly and with a lot of thought and love – and a great eye for detail! 🙂

  9. kendrakiss says:

    you are such a creative and caring hostess! everything looks delicious!

  10. nevraforever says:

    we had a work christmas party last weekend and it sucked big time! no decorations or fun theme– nothing!! ilove your set-up! for a nice intimate dessert party, you really planned it quite well! very thoughtful with the practical set-up and guest organization! i like how you think!! wonderful stuff!

  11. shugashug says:

    Thanks everyone! I’d love to do a doll themed one at some point in the future! I think that would be fun too.

Leave a Reply

