Christmas Party Preppin’

So today I moved my dining room table and pulled everything out to prepare for my Dessert party on Sunday.  (yes, I know… I’m a planner…)  I just wanted to share with you what I’ve prepped so far! 

So for my backdrop I just used wrapping paper on one of those science fair backboards that are like $2 at Michael’s.  They’re perfect at 4 feet by 3 feet and the sides angle inwards to make a nice little “stage”.  Then I added a tissue pom in the top corner with a paper clip and hung a snowflake ornament on the other side.  I may add a few more smaller poms, but I’m not positive yet.

Then I pulled out all my serving dishes (all in white to go with whatever decor you decide to do!) and set everything up how I wanted it to be displayed.  I placed a sticky note on each plate with what I plan on serving on it and made sure I had everything included off my list.  Once I moved things around enough until I found how I wanted it to look, I took a picture of it so I will know how to put everything back.  I still need to get red ribbon to weave through all my dessert stands.  Here’s how it looked:

 

Next I took everything off of the table except the backdrop and began working on my “display”.  This year I am going traditional and using my little village that lights up.  I stacked books up in different heights to use as my “mountain” and covered all of that with a white tablecloth.  Then I proceeded to add my village in along with the “snow” and trees.  Don’t you just love my “rejoice” sparkly thingie?  I picked it up at HomeGoods for $5 last weekend!  So here’s how that looked:

The next step is to put all your serving dishes back how you originally had them! I also used a long narrow sofa table as my beverage bar, which I’ll photograph tomorrow or Sunday so you can see how that looks.  I also need to print out my printables which matched my invitations – these will be for my toppers, name cards, etc.  Oh!  and of course it wouldn’t be a “Hubster & I” party without 1 funny thing added in – wait until you see the cups we bought for the party and what the tag will say, LOL!  And of course I’ll photograph on Sunday just prior to the party so you can see all my lovely baked goods – I’ve still got lots to do! 

Hope this got everyone in the Christmas spirit!

 

 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Styling A Party and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Party Preppin’

  1. Corrinne says:

    OMG! I want to know how you can do so many things and still go to school full time! I have so many dolls I want to photograph and play with and can’t seem to do it…can you send a little of your energy my way!!!!!!! By the time I do all the things like taking care of 4 animals (five if you count my husband lol) and homeshcooling my 15 year old…..I am done and my poor dollies are often neglected! Happy Holidays and thanks for all the dolly info!

  2. shugashug says:

    LOL, Corrinne – I’m sending energy your way now…. bzzzbbzzbzzzup! No really though, I have 2 dogs, so that’s 2 less animals than you and no kids yet, which I’m sure is the biggest time-sucker, LOL. We’re trying though, so we’ll see how much I can do once a baby comes!

  3. JennFL says:

    Geeze, Shuga! Stop raising the bar on Hostess Skills…you’re ruining it for the rest of us. You’d be lucky if I break out the Chinette Paper Plates when you come to visit. [sheepish grin].

  4. shugashug says:

    LOL JennFL, I expect the good China!

  5. Anne-Marie says:

    It looks amazing!

  6. Starr says:

    I love seeing your setup! You are so much more organized than me. I am doing a Christmas cookie exchange tomorrow so I am frantically making lots of cookies tonight. This really makes me appreciate all of your planning. I can’t wait to see the rest. 🙂

  7. shugashug says:

    Thanks Starr & Anne Marie! I was baking late into the night – plus I had my hubby’s work party tonight too! Hope to share pics soon!

Leave a Reply

