Adopt-A-Family

I just wanted to post this because we’re in the Holiday season and we all have a lot to be thankful for.  So, a little about my background… I am a firm believer in giving back, and I used to do much more volunteer work prior to school, and hope to get back to that once school doesn’t take up 110% of my life.  During the Holiday season I always think about giving to charities, but never know which one I’d give to because I really don’t know where the money goes or how it gets used.  Then I was reading in my local paper last year and saw a local program called Adopt-A-Family.  These are families with children who are struggling to make ends meet and have been nominated by the local school teachers to this program.  I thought aha!  this will help people locally and I will know exactly where the money is going.

The program allows a donor to adopt a family and we are given a list of the family members and their Christmas lists.  Items usually include clothing, shoes, socks and bedding or kitchen items along with gift cards for grocery stores and gas.  Now my husband & I are living on one income and are struggling ourselves at times, so we couldn’t afford to cover one family’s needs ourselves, but we know we are blessed to even have a job in these times.   This is the same situation with some of my friends and family.  So I thought that if all of us together adopted a family and gave a smaller amount of money each then we’d be able to help out.  This is what we did last year and by some amazing stroke of luck we received the same family again this year.  Just in our little city there were 450 families that have been nominated for this program, which has doubled from last year.  Besides the items on their list, you can add in fun things too.  For example, we added in a set of movie tickets and a gift certificate to a local restaurant so they’d have a nice evening out for Christmas, and for the mom we got a nice set of goodies from bath & body works.

Anyway, I just wanted to put this out there, to encourage those of you who can help out in your local communities to do just that.  Maybe you have a book club or doll club that meets and if you got everyone to chip in $25-50 you could really help a family out and give them a Christmas filled with things they need along with some surprise goodies. 

 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adopt-A-Family

  1. Jon Copeland says:

    This is very commendable and another reason I love reading your blog Shug.
    I used to be involved in this sort of thing when I worked at the Diaper plant.
    Now that I work from home, helping the Adopt a Family program that is here in my town fell to the way side.
    I just contacted city hall and they’re accepting donations now.
    Thanks for adding this and for causing me to get back into giving.

    I wish you the brightest of Holiday Seasons!

    xo,
    Jon

  2. shugashug says:

    Thanks Jon! I’m happy to promote the giving spirit.

  3. Renatta Rasmussen says:

    My husband and I do this every year, and it’s always one of my favorite traditions. This year it nearly broke my heart to draw the profile of an 11-yr-old girl, and all she’s asked for is a pair of shoes and socks. Her 5-yr-old brother asked for a T-shirt with Toy Story or Spiderman on it. You can bet these two kids will get a little more than they bargained for in their packages. 🙂

    Thanks for bringing this topic up in your blog.

  4. shugashug says:

    That’s so great Renatta! It’s definitely becoming a favorite tradition for us too!

  5. marklar says:

    great post, thanks so much for mentioning this.
    love hearing about various constructive ways to give.
    i usually give to toys for tots & have a bag started i am adding to at the moment.
    this year we’ve been regularly donating various foods to a local pantry, most recently right before thanksgiving. was just getting another bag together for them today to drop off this week!

  6. Karon Montague says:

    Just got back from my Doll Club meeting where we pooled the goodies for 2 “Angel Tree” kids, as we call this program here. It feels so wonderful to make some other folks holiday a bit brighter. No child should be forgotten. When a group goes in together, it’s easy to make some magic.

Leave a Reply

