9000 Needles

Okay, shameless plug here, LOL.  There is a documentary that is beginning to be screened in the US called “9000 Needles” and I just wanted to share it here.  Our school does a Symposium once a year where acupuncturists come from all over the world to attend lectures and workshops by some of the top in our world of medicine.  This year we’re also going to have a screening of the documentary “9000 Needles”, which has won numerous documentary film awards.  I’m really excited to see it when I return from the convention.

“9000 Needles” is the story of Devin Dearth, a bodybuilder, who suffered a devastating stroke that left him paralyzed on one side, unable to walk, with double vision and unable to take care of himself.  This is a story of courage, faith, patience and determination of the human spirit.  It shows his struggles, frustrations and limitations within the US Healthcare system followed by the immersion into the treatment program and philosophy of Traditional Chinese Medicine. 

Personally I just want to say that I have worked a clinic shift treating stroke patients and have seen amazing results firsthand that have truly boggled my mind.  Of course alot has to be said for the patients perserverance and determination to get better and be compliant in the treatment program.  Clinically I have noticed that patients have a higher chance of getting most of their motor and sensory functions back if they begin acupuncture and herbal treatments as soon as they have the stroke.  So if in the future someone close to you suffers a stroke, I highly recommend that you consider Traditional Chinese Medicine as an option.

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9000 Needles

  1. aminie says:

    Oh Shug, thanks for sharing this! I will really try to see the whole documentary. It does look amazingly interesting!!

    (and I am so glad I know someone who studies traditionnal chinese medicine!!)

  2. Doug Dearth says:

    Shugashug, thanks for writing about the documentary and sharing it with others. I am the director of the film and will be attending the screening, as will my brother and his wife (he is the one who suffered the stroke and is the subject of the film). So if you make it to the screening, please introduce yourself. Would love to meet you!

Leave a Reply

