Shuga’s Styling a Party: Decor!

Here’s a shot of my decorations so far.  I have been going to Michael’s and JoAnn’s Fabrics weekly with my 50% off coupon and picking up items I’ve needed, so some of the stuff pictured I had previously bought.  Today I hit up my local thrift stores and Big Lots to see if I could find some cute decor for the food and dessert tables.  I had a lucky day!  I go with the theme in mind, but I always know that if I find something and it’s not the color I want, that I can spraypaint it.  This will open up endless possibilities for you! 

Oh!  I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but most of the parties I do are 1 time events (other than Holidays) so the decorations will not be reused.  So what I do is sell everything in a “lot” after the event on either Craig’s List or Ebay so that someone else can use everything for their party.  I did this with all my wedding centerpieces & decorations and every other party I’ve thrown.  If I don’t get all my money back, I at least get 3/4 of it back, so in the end I’m not out that much money for the party (other than food costs).  So keep that in mind when you’re buying items too – don’t get items that are too big to box and ship if you sell on ebay.

Below you’ll see some thrift store finds.  I found the little baby basket that I can put some after dinner mints into.  I even found this cute little beehive cookie jar for $2 – this I’ll use on the top tier of my cake stands.  I’m stacking 3 up on top of each other and the bottom 2 will have mini bundt cakes with little bees made out of chocolate covered almonds and almond slivers for their wings.  So this will be a perfect topper to that display!  I picked up some bees for the branches that I’ll use as centerpieces.

Here you see some birdhouses I picked up at JoAnn’s for $1 each which will be painted.  I picked up some little nests from Michaels for $1 too that I can place in the displays.  I also found some super cute blue bird fabric that will be perfect for my food and dessert table backdrops!  I’ll show you more about that later, but basically I staple fabric onto those 3’x4′ science project trifold displays and hang that on the wall behind the tables (plus you can add more decorations onto them).  And my exciting find was the little topiary placecard holders!  These were in the wedding section at Michaels where I used my 50% off coupon.  I’m going to hot glue a little bird onto each one too.  And then you see the little vintage container with the blue birds on them.  This will work into the display somewhere.

And below you see some Poms (Martha Stewart brand – used my 50% off Michael’s coupon), polka dot paper lanterns, and these plastic pieces that were in the scrapbook paper section.  They have baby words on them in a baby blue color and I will be using them as placemats at the table.  Cute huh!  See, you can find things and use them in new & different ways!  I also have already made quite a few poms in yellow and blue (you can see them in the top picture).  They are super easy to make and I just love the look of a bunch of them clustered together.  To DIY, check out Martha Stewart’s guide HERE.  If you’re not a crafty person, check out this Etsy site PERFECT POMS.  The poms can be refolded when you’re done to reuse or resell after your party.  Poms are totally in style right now for parties and they look fabulous (yes, there are actually trends in styling parties)!

Here is some great eye-candy & inspiration for Pom madness over a dessert table!  The photo is by Anj, and you can check out her SNOWY BLISS blog.  See how it’s got a backdrop and everything!  This is what I do for my party tables too.  I’ve been totally obsessed with Amy Atlas and her dessert tables for a long time now – she’s what got me into doing my tables this way, but Anj did an amazing job on this dessert table!

**Photo below is property of Anj of Snowy Bliss** 

 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Styling A Party and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shuga’s Styling a Party: Decor!

  1. nevraforever says:

    I’m loving your party ideas and breakdown! Everything is all sooo cute! I can’t wait to see the final presentation. Your stuff is inspiring me to throw a bash myself!!

  2. Clair says:

    How do you make your backdrops?

Leave a Reply

