Shuga’s Styling a Party!

Sorry for the delay on Giselle’s pics, they will be coming tomorrow morning/afternoon.  I’m currently in full party planning mode for the holidays and this upcoming baby shower.  As you know I’m a planner, so I’ve been making lists and going through my holiday decorations to see what I need to get or begin working on.  I’ll be doing a dessert party in early December with a silver snowflake theme.  So I’ll share pics once that takes place.  Plus I’m trying to finish up our Convention costumes!  Yay only 26 days away now!

I’ve also decided that I’m going to do a series of posts with tips for styling a fabulous party along with photos of my personal projects that I’m working on for upcoming parties.  Each post will have the same post title so it will stay separate from all my doll posts.  I’ve added a “styling a party” category on the side too, so they’ll all be listed there if you ever want to refer back to them.  So first up I’ll start with some basics!

WHAT BASIC PIECES DO YOU NEED TO KEEP ON HAND FOR PARTIES?

Well, I’m all about saving money, so I like to have some staples on hand that I can keep reusing for each and every party that I throw.  So for me it’s about 4 things:

1…. A “caterer’s” set of basic white dishes.  These are perfect because they are plain white and they can be used for any party theme you use.  They can also be decorated each time to fit more with your theme.  I use food grade edible dye and stamps to coordinate them to my theme and I’ll share more of that in a later post.  Plus it’s always nicer to have real dishes rather than paper plates at a party – it makes it seem more elegant and fabulous!  I picked up my set at HomeGoods which sold sets of 12 in boxes that are perfect to store them in for another time.  I got a set of 12 dinner plates, salad plates, soup bowls and appetizer plates for $70. Think how much I’ll save by not having to buy paper plates and plastic silverware each time I throw a party!  These can be found at IKEA fairly cheap too!

2…. You’ll also need serving pieces in white or glass as well.  Trays, long plates, round plates, cake stands, etc.  I was able to pick up ribboned stands at my local HomeGoods for $8 each and I can change the ribbon out to match each theme.  The other pieces I’ve picked up on clearance at HomeGoods, Ross, Marshall’s and even CostPlus WorldMarket.  Another great site I order from is CB2  (http://www.cb2.com/dining/)  They have nice pieces and great prices (especially if you can pick them up on sale!)

 

3…. You also need to have a set of various sizes of glass vases.  These will serve dual purposes as well.  You need some tall cyclinder shapes and shorter wide square shapes.  You will reuse these over and over again for both centerpiece decorations and for serving food.  Why buy all kinds of bowls for serving food in when you can use these wide mouth square vases?  Plus It looks so much prettier on a table!  I used my Michael’s coupon that came weekly in the newspaper to purchase my set.  The larger sizes you need run $15-20 so with your 50% coupon you save alot of money in the long run.  Plus you just pick up one a week so it doesn’t seem like you’re spending that much money. 

 

4…. And finally you need a couple of beverage servers.  These can be glass or acrylic and can be plain or fancy.  I’ve found these on clearance at various places for under $20. I’ve recently seen a great acrylic pedestal version at WalMart for $14!   I’d say 2-3 are all you need to have on hand and they don’t have to match.  I just think these servers are so pretty on a table!

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Styling A Party and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shuga’s Styling a Party!

  1. Starr says:

    Cool posting, these are some great ideas. I can’t wait to hear more.

  2. Fil_f&f says:

    I also can’t wait for more :-] Really enjoyed it

  3. shugashug says:

    Thanks! I wasn’t sure how much interest there would be, but hey, its my blog and I can make ya’ll read anything I want, muahahahaha…. just kidding! I’m glad people are interested.

  4. DeeBlue says:

    It’s true, though: You really can make us read anything you want. *lol* We’re like sheep following you – baa-aaah! 😉

    But apart from that, it actually is interesting. I can’t wait to see more of your party themes. Your LOST party theme was amazing!

  5. hunnipot85 says:

    Love this post Shuga! I love your decorating, designing and party themes that you’ve shown so far throughout the blog! 🙂

    Can’t wait to read more – I’ve already gotten ideas for my next party! xoxo

Leave a Reply

