Beatnik Blues

I know everyone’s wondering where I’m at and why I’m not deboxing furiously, LOL.  Well, yesterday I woke up and decided I needed to change my living room.  For some reason I’ve had a ton of weird energy lately (hmm… maybe I’m pregnant?) and so I woke up at 6am and repainted and restyled my entire living room.  I literally was working until 7pm.  Can you imagine the surprise of my hubby to walk in after work and see an entirely different room?  The look of shock was priceless.  The only thing I’ve got left to do is restain my mantle and then I’ll take some pics so you can see the before and after.  I’m REALLY happy with how it came out.  So there went yesterday and I’m back to my dolls today!

Today I decided to debox Beatnik Blues.  For those of you who follow my blog, you know I’ve been really picky with my Poppy’s.  I made a point to express how I only liked the side glancing eyed Poppy’s from the previous version because something about the forward glancing eyes and the way they were painted was strange to me.  Then we got a peek at the new Poppy’s back in February and I wasn’t really sure about these new eyes.  I guess I’m extra harsh on Poppy because I just love her so much.  I preordered this one and the giftset and was banking on the fact that IT promo pics never do justice to the real doll, which ends up working out for me everytime.  The real dolls always look WAY better than the promo shots you see months in advance.  Then I got to see these gals in person at IFDC and I felt much better. 

I talked with David Buttry a little about the dolls and he was really curious to know how I felt about them since he knows the “eyes” will make or break a Poppy for me.  To be perfectly honest, before the new line was revealed in February I wasn’t planning on getting anymore Poppy dolls because they were getting all too similar.  I had planned on purchasing a couple for the outfits and selling the dolls nude.  So on one hand I didn’t want Poppy to change and on the other hand the change was needed in order to keep collectors like me collecting them.  So even though this new line is different than the Poppy we’ve known and loved, I am happy to be able to purchase more dolls for my collection.  They take a little bit to get used to, especially if you absolutely adored the previous sets, but now that she’s out of her box I’m REALLY pleased with her.  Of course I will have to start a new display shelf for these Poppy’s because I like to keep the other similar ones together.

The main reason I picked this Poppy was because I absolutely adore the fashion on her!  It brings to mind Sandra Dee in “Take Her, She’s Mine” where she gets caught up in the Beatnik culture.  Which reminded me that there was a movie called “Portrait in Black” that Sandra Dee starred in with Lana Turner.  (I’m a big Sandra Dee fan along with Doris Day) Anyways, the best part of this Poppy fashion is the shoes!  Perfect fit!  Cute little patent slip on mules in black with a little bow.  I would love to get a Poppy shoe pack with these in several colors!!

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Photosessions, Poppy Parker and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beatnik Blues

  1. talija says:

    I love this Poppy so much!

    Waiting for pictures of your new living room!

    🙂

  2. frjunkie81 says:

    You are my hero! She is truly captivating. The flats are such a nice addition to Poppy’s wardrobe! Thanks for always sharing. Living vicariously through your photos!

Leave a Reply

