A bittersweet ending for this comic book nerd

Well, today was the final day of Comic Con.  It’s always the day you feel kind of sad that it’s all ending again.  I’ve had alot of emails from people asking me to pick up things for them at Comic Con and I’d love to be able to do that for everyone, but logistically it’s impossible because of the lines and sea of people.  The exhibit floor is enormous and after 4 days I still saw booths I never saw before today.  I also got alot of emails from people who were asking the history behind why I love Comic Con, or if this was my husband’s passion and I just tagged along.  So I thought I’d share a little more about myself here today since I’m feeling nostalgic. 

*Random costume photo from today*

Growing up in the 70’s & 80’s my dad worked a regular full time job but also had his own small comic shop.  It was the only one in our town and so every weekend my brother and I would hang out in the store with him reading comics all day.  So comics were a big part of my life at a young age.  I had my favorites back then of course, all the women of DC and Marvel and then as I got older I began to move to some other ones like Danger Girl, Darkchylde and Fathom.  I know I’ve mentioned before that I was a tomboy growing up, so my brother and I were really close (he’s 2 years younger) and we played He-Man, GI Joe, Transformers, Voltron and Thundercats together.  So as you can see all those toys and comics that I’ve named are pretty much the bulk of what’s at Comic Con.  Plus I am such a nerd-fan that the “favorites/frequently called” people on my droid phone are all assigned character pics from all of the above that I’ve listed (except for JennFL who’s NW Vanessa, LOL)

*my phone, LOL*

Today was an extra fun final day at Comic Con for me because my brother went with me and it was his first time going!  I have a friend who writes for the Hollywood Reporter and he had a press pass for all 4 days and didn’t want to go today so he offered it to me to give to my hubby.  Of course the hubby went with me one day last year but can’t tolerate the crowds so instead I called up my brother, who has been pouring over all my flickr photos and calling me 3 times a day to get updates, and offered him the ticket.  He was SUPER excited!  It was great to go with him and see it all through a newbie’s eyes, LOL.  Plus it was awesome to have another comic nerd with me because sometimes we’d see a symbol on a shirt that looked familiar and we couldn’t place it and then the other one of us would totally remember it and we shared a cool moment reminiscing about being kids again.  It was a really nice day because of that.  Now he’s super pumped to go next year and get the 4 day pass and just take the time off from work to go.

*random costume photo from today*

I’ve been wanting to get into a new comic book and haven’t found one that really intrigues me and so as I was wandering through the booths I made sure to keep an eye out for something new and exciting.  Well I had about given up after 4 days, but about 2 hours before leaving today I found that comic!  And it’s by Aspen comics who makes another favorite of mine, Fathom.  First let me preface this by saying that I am officially a “steampunk” fan.  I knew about it and had seen some things off and on, but after this Comic Con I’ve been exposed to ALOT of steampunk  (from animated films to graphic novels to costuming, etc)  and now I am a true fan (and almost bought the $150 pullip doll just because of this, LOL!).  I think I’m actually going to make a costume to wear next year!  Anyway, this new comic book fits right in that genre.  It’s called “Lady Mechanika” and is a brand new limited series coming out around September 8th.  Here’s a photo of the preview card they were giving out.

Okay, I feel like this is a long rambling post, and if you’ve honestly read all of this post I really appreciate it and I’ve now dubbed you a “good reader”.  As a “good reader” I am offering you the chance to win the free exclusive MH Frankie doll from Comic Con.  All you have to do is post a comment and guess who my favorite comic book character was while growing up.  I even bought my shirt today of that character.  I will allow you to post until Wednesday at 6pm PST (72 hours).  If more than one person guesses it right I will put their names in to draw from.  Good Luck!

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A bittersweet ending for this comic book nerd

  1. halleandgigi says:

    It’s so great you got to hang out with your brother today. Sounds like you have had so much fun these past few days. I’ve never been exposed to Comic Con before, but I’ve been looking at your flickr stream nonstop– I’d love to go someday!
    I’m going to guess your favorite was… the black canary? (She’s my favorite!)
    Thanks so much for having and regularly updating your blog and flickr, for people like me who can’t get to cool stuff like this!
    Gigi

  2. Anne-Marie says:

    Have been enjoying your updates. Sounds like you had a fun childhood! My guess (aka “shot in the dark”) is going to be She-Ra, Princess of Power.

  3. aminie says:

    Ooooh! This is a title I never noticed in Previews!! I just emailed my comic book store so they can add Lady Mechanika to my list! Count me in in the steampunk boat!!! 😀

    One day I’ll go to comic con with you I promise!!

  4. Samantha says:

    Good to hear you enjoyed yourself!!
    I’d rather go to Comic Con than the Barbie convention!!
    It seems a lot more fun!!
    Oooh, I want to guess!! (even though I can’t be part of the comp! 🙂
    I say Wonder Woman!! Only because she was my favorite growing up in the 70’s & 80’s!! 🙂 But I’ll be wrong ’cause I’m older than you, being the same age as Gwen Stefani (I only say that, because I feel so much better knowing someone that cool is my age!! LOL)
    I really want to go to Comic Con someday!!

  5. shugashug says:

    Hey, you’re only older by a few years! I was born in ’73. Good luck!

  6. Terri Gold says:

    I enjoyed learning about your comic history. That does sound weird. Anyway, it was interesting to follow your weekend.
    I don’t know many comic book characters. I’m older so the characters I am familiar with would be dinosaurs to you. But I’m going to guess Superman. He was a favorite of mine. Now, Supergirl (Tonner’s) is my favorite.
    Terri

  7. shugashug says:

    That would be great! You and Jenn should take the month of July off next year and we can all do IFDC then come to my house and then do Comic Con! The prizes for the Masquerade Ball are pretty amazing I’ve heard. Lots of money to be won for best costumes! You could make some money A!

  8. Samantha says:

    I wanna come too!! 😀
    Wonder Woman was the main reason I wanted the Polly Pocket set!! 😀

  9. Wanda says:

    Na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, na, Batman! He he! I am gonna guess Batman! He was my favorite growing up! BTW I have loved following your ConicCon weekend and of course your’s and JennFL’s IFDC weekend pics too! Thanks for letting me live vicariously through you two!

  10. Tawna says:

    I’m really enjoying your blog….and I’m going to say your favorite character was Wonder Woman.

  11. Dinara says:

    Thank you very much for sharing your impressions, stories and photos with us! it feels like we (all your readers) a part of all these events, though being thousand miles away 🙂
    my little guess is Wonder Woman.

    Thank you!

  12. Bobby says:

    Hi!

    Thanks for your great blog, I follow it often. I collect fashion dolls & all things Wonder Woman! I’m guessing Superman is your fave!

    Thanks!

    Bobby

  13. Luanne in Canada says:

    I don’t need to win anything but wanted to say that your coverage of the Comic Con weekend was great. I found a channel on our TV covering it as well so I was looking for you. lol.

    Thanks!
    Luanne in Canada

  14. Starr says:

    I have been visiting your site from the start and I have not posted before. I just wanted to say that I really appreciate all the pictures and news. Your writing style is lovely and so positive. I always come away from your site feeling cheerful. I too love dolls and comic books and I will guess my favorite growing up, Superman. Thanks again for the Comic Con coverage!

  15. Marna says:

    Ooo, I couldn’t resist guessing, I’ll go with Black Canary

  16. aminie says:

    LOL! Well I am crazy when it comes to costumes, but there are tons of people crazier than me at comic con!! That said, I’d still like to dressup if I attended one day :p

  17. madfan30 says:

    i loved all your coverage and pics of the comic con . i would love to go to one of those again one day. i haven’t been to a big convention in about 17 years. i wish i could have been with you. i wish i could go to any convention . i do not like to leave my children ,so being without them for 1 day would kill me,lol. that’s why i would only go to events in NYC. so whenever there is a convention in NYC im so there with my camera. as for the contest i think your favorite character might be wonder woman. she was and still is my fav. thanks again for your wonderful posts. hugs 🙂

  18. Natasha says:

    I wanted to say thank you as well. Great posts and amazing pictures. I am looking forward to meet you at FR con.
    My guess is Wonder Woman 🙂

    Thank you!

  19. shugashug says:

    Thanks everyone for the kind comments, it really means a lot to me to be able to share my passion with others out there that love dolls (and comics!) like I do.

    Loving all the guesses! Keep it up! I’ll post a pic of my new shirt too once the correct answer has been revealed.

  20. Fil_f&f says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful childhood! Now we know why you know so much about comics 🙂 I like what you did on your mobile 😀 Your mom looks hot ;-D
    My intelligence (or a lack of it) tells me that your favourite comic character was male, but I think I recall something about Wonder Woman… I will go with the rest. WONDER WOMAN!!!

  21. JenB says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience/love of ComicCon. I would have been there too, but got sick 😦
    As an avid “good reader”/lurker for about a year now, I’m going to take a stab in the dark. You seem to like things a bit on the dark side–as do I–so, in an example of stunning and total projection, I’m going to go with my childhood fave: Catwoman!

  22. Emily says:

    I’d love to have a chance to win Frankie! Wow!!
    Too many Wonder Woman votes (although I had the Underroos myself…) so I am debating between Shazam and Spidey. I think I will officially guess SPIDERMAN. :O)

  23. marklar says:

    thank you for allowing us to live comicon 2010 vicariously through you! (= enjoyed it.

    my guess:
    Wonder Woman

  24. very nice…hopefully i can come nxt time.

Leave a Reply

