Comic Con: Day 1 – morning

Well after literally about 5 hours of sleep I was up again and off to the trolley station.  It’s been overcast here in SD the past week and sure enough it was drizzling all morning so I stood in the rain waiting for the first event line trolley.  I knew I needed to get down to the convention center as early as I could so I could get to the exhibit hall line and not be at the end of it.  So I made it down and waited a little over an hour to get inside.  I headed straight to the Mattel line to see if I could get in line for purchasing.  No go.  Basically it stays closed and you need to have a pass to enter the purchasing line.  This was the pass that I got last night that said 10am this morning so I was told to come back at 10.  How it works is that you get in line to get a purchasing pass for the following day.  While I was there the line was formed for noon when they passed out purchasing passes for Friday (all different times).  So you can see it’s a complete hassle to purchase any exclusive at any of the booths during Comic Con.  I have a pass for tomorrow to go to the Hasbro booth and that’ll be another round of craziness.

So basically I wandered around some more and kept coming back to see if they were letting the 10am pass holders in.  Still no go because the line wasn’t moving that fast.  We were told by security to keep circling around and checking back because we couldn’t stand there and block the aisles.  I did as they asked and eventually I got in around 10:45.  Then another hour in that line to get to the registers.  Yeah, lines, lines, lines.  Finally I was able to get my purchases and get out of line. Whew!  On my way out I stopped back by the Monster High setup and saw they were giving out bags and tattoos so I picked 2 up.  The workers there saw my Mattel bag full of Frankie dolls and nothing else and they were like “whoa! you must love these dolls!”.  I was chatting up the British lady dressed up as a scientist who acted like she was the mastermind creator behind the dolls (they use lots of actors at the booths).  Then she whispered to me that the guy to the side in the pink sweatshirt was the designer and if I wanted to go say hi to him I could. 

So I walked over and said “I was told you were the designer”.  He says yes and sees my bag and laughs and says “Wow! Thanks for your support!”.  We chatted a bit and he was curious how I liked the new dance line and I mentioned how I loved that he went 80’s on it.  I told him how I was in a local doll club and that even though we like our expensive fashion dolls, alot of us are getting into these fun girls.  He was pleasantly surprised and was happy to hear about the adult collectors.  He was super nice and I shook his hand and then he offered to sign one of my boxes, and I said “Of Course!”.  So he signed it! 

Super cool ending to the madness of the never ending lines.  Plus I had planned on getting these last night so I could attend panels this morning (Tron in particular) and now I missed all of those in order to get the dolls.  Now I’m back home to eat, take a quick nap, shower (again! the halls get packed & you get sweaty!) then off to school to turn in my final paper and then back to the convention center to see the rest of the exhibits that I haven’t seen yet.  Tomorrow and Saturday I’ll be sitting in panels all day. 

Several people contacted me about getting Frankie dolls, and there was a limit per person, so the ones I got today were already allotted to go up on ebay.  Gotta make some money to pay for the dolls I have coming in.  I will be trying to get another purchasing pass for Sunday and if I am able to get dolls then I will give them to the 1st two people who contacted me and sell them at cost.  Right now those will go to:  ImpossiblePrincess and Aminie.  I’ll keep you updated on the status of dolls later.

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Comic Con: Day 1 – morning

  1. Samantha says:

    OMG!!! Thank you!! I really apprieciate you trying for me!!! I hope you can get her!!
    Congrats on getting yours signed!!
    Hope youre having a fab time!! xox

  2. shugashug says:

    My other option is to convince someone already in line to buy extras for me, LOL. The line police really hate that, but I did see that going on.

  3. Samantha says:

    Ooooh!!! Do that!! Use your charms on them!! 😉 x

  4. Samantha says:

    Have you seen the Polly Pocket set? They are SOOOOO cute!!! ❤

  5. Sam says:

    Sounds like you are having a wonderful time ^^ Congrats on getting your Frankie too!

    (And if that’s the new Clawdeen with the green hair, I am sunk. I resisted the original one, but this one is just too darling!)

  6. Sam says:

    Whoops! That was supposed to say ‘wonderful, if tiring time’ Regardless, I hope you continue to enjoy CC!

  7. aminie says:

    thanks so much Shug for trying this for us! It is greatly appreciated!

    But most of all, have a GREAT time!!

    Polly Pocket sets?! OMG I’ve got to investigate, just in case they are in the tiny size of the line! (you know, where the pocket reference comes from… lol)

  8. shugashug says:

    YES, I saw the Polly pockets, they were also on the purchase list if I wanted them. I almost bought wonder woman’s invisible jet too.

  9. aminie says:

    oh no they are the big ones… boooh 😦

  10. shugashug says:

    I think the new clawdeen is great! I think i’d skip the cleo one and get the rest.

  11. Sam says:

    I’m definitely getting the new Clawdeen. & I like the new Frankie too, though still like the original more. But really, Idon’t think I could ever *not* like Frankie, lol.

    & if Lagoona’s mohawk looks as cool in real life as it appears on the postcard thingy, then I’m in for her too.

Leave a Reply

