Fractured Fairytales

That was today’s dinner event theme.  So fun to see all the Fairytale costumes (I didn’t take enough pictures, so we’re relying on JennFL for those).  I LOVED our table centerpiece!  It was the dumbo ride from Disneyland but it was built over a cemetary and a great big black monster hand was busting up through the floor and tipping the ride over and the little kids were all falling out and the moms on the side were screaming in terror.  Such a perfect & creative idea for tonight’s theme! 

There was also a Charity auction tonight and again JennFL actually took shots of all those dolls.  I just didn’t want to fight with the people checking them out to actually bid on them, so I stayed away from the table.  There were some beautiful ones and some great outfits too!  I believe the 2 biggest fundraisers for the night were Randall Craig’s OOAK Monogram that was rerooted by Rob and if I remember right she went for about $800.  Then the final doll of the night was by the Italian designers Maggia 2000 (Mario & Gianni).  They were so sweet and read that the convention theme was “Wizard of Oz” and created an elaborate themed outfit with a gold road going up the bodice of the gown and then realized when the got here that that is the theme for 2011’s IFDC and that this year it was “Wonderful World of Disney”.  But either way it was an amazing doll (looked to me like a redone Metal Maven Vanessa) and an amazing outfit and the final bid was about $1800.

Okay, off to bed now because somehow I got talked into going to breakfast at 8am????  I don’t know if I really realized what I was saying, LOL.  But we’re going early so we can be back before the salesroom and raffle room closes.  Then the raffle starts about 2:30 and hopefully I get another Momoko!

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in IFDC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fractured Fairytales

  1. Helen W says:

    I don’t think it is cute or funny to make fun of children falling off an amusment park ride, or their mothers looking in horror at the site of it. I don’t think Walt Disney would have liked this being done to his precious Dubo, and children he lived to make happy. Shame on you all!

  2. Stop Staring says:

    Helen if you look really closely you will see that it actually isnt a photo of a real amusement park tragedy,but staged with DOLLS! Unclutch your pearls and unwad those panties,lifes too short.Im sure Walt wouldnt be overly impressed with the billion dollar behemoth peddling dubious plastic dreck made in third world sweatshops by underpaid workers his company has become.Ill pass on the shame and enjoy the black humour for what is,thanks.

  3. JennFL says:

    Seriously Helen….lighten up. This is an adult function in Vegas – so if you can’t appreciate all the hard work, creativity and enthusiasm that our hostesses put into their centerpieces, then I suggest you follow the old saying “If you can’t say anything nce….”

  4. Claudia says:

    Great pics Shuga!!! Thank you so much for keeping us updated with all the fun you guys are having!! Is great to be able to read how things are going in Vegas.

    Helen, shame on you! What’s the point of making rude comments in an adult thing? Really…. I find it rather hilarious, and I honestly think Walt Disney would care at all! he’d be too busy counting all his money

  5. Carol says:

    on July 10, 2010 at 8:13 am Helen W
    Shame on you all!

    Wow!! this comment is rude…
    Shugashug, I have to say I appreciate all your photos and updates of the covention. I can’t be there myself, but viewing your photos is definitely a bless. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

