Marsha, Marsha, Marsha

Today begins the final day of the Gene Convention and tonight everyone will receive the doll to their giftset and the final convention doll.  I am so excited to see them!  Today I’m off to my local doll club meet (yay!) where our host will be doing a presentation on a fashion designer, so you know I’m excited about that!!  So I’ll post pics and report on that later this evening.  Hmmm, now to figure out which dolls want to take the trip with me (besides Flame Blue of course)…

Okay, so today in honor of the Gene Con, I’m posting some pics of the Marsha Hunt doll.  To be perfectly honest, other than Madra she’s probably my favorite doll.  I know there’s only been 2 released (or was it 3?) and I only have 1, but something about her just screams out for me to photograph her.  Maybe it’s because the doll was based on a real actress, or maybe because that actress starred in film noir movies in the 1940’s, which is my favorite genre of films, or maybe it’s her widow’s peak, LOL.  Well, whatever it is, I’m very inspired by this doll.  So here are a few pics of Marsha. (I must say that looking back to my Gene doll photos, I can see how much my photography has grown!  These were some of my first photos I began taking back in 2008!)

Okay, so that’s Marsha.  Now I want you to know how much she inspired me by showing you some pics from a shoot I did that was Film Noir inspired!  Because Marsha Hunt was in some great Film Noir movies (loved Raw Deal!) and because I’m totally crazy for this style of movies, I went overboard and did a huge photoshoot with my dolls.  I loved doing this series & even added cool quotes from some of the famous Noir movies to go with them.  I used the Corkscrew Alley diorama (which was given out at the Rare Deal Gene Convention) as my backdrop.  So here we go… Film Noir in dolly-scale.

No names, no addresses. Just companions for the evening.  -Phantom Lady-

I was born last night when you met me in that alley. That way, I’m no past and all future, see. And I like it that way.  -Gilda- 

Goodbye angel and don’t forget to change your will. You’d hate yourself on your little pink cloud if you accidentally left anything to me.  -The Man Who Cheated Himself-

The schoolgirl manner, you know, blushing, stammering, and all that… if you actually were as innocent as you pretend to be, we’d never get anywhere.  -The Maltese Falcon-

So here she is ladies and gentleman, so appealing, so dangerous, so lovely to look at.  -Gun Crazy-

She was born to be bad…to be kissed…to make trouble.  -Human Desire-

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Gene Marshall Collection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Marsha, Marsha, Marsha

  1. Martina from Germany says:

    Wow! Your “film noir” pics are stunning! When I look at them I hear the voice of Humphrey Bogart.

  2. Ernesto says:

    Phenomenal B&W series. The feelings conveyed are strong. Gorgeous! Marsha Hunt and the doll in her likeness are a great addition to the Gene line.

  3. Terri Gold says:

    Wonderful Film Noir photos.

  4. shugashug says:

    Glad you’re enjoying the blog! The checked dress is an older gene outfit that was produced by Ashton-Drake. I believe it was called Bridge Club or Garden Party.

  5. Teri says:

    Wow Shug! These are very enabling! LOL! I’ve never seen the Marsha Hunt doll this way before and she is GORGEOUS! What is the cute little light blue check number she is wearing in the first photograph? Thanks! Love your blog:)

Leave a Reply

