ACHERON, MY LOVE

Okay, I just finised book #15 in the Dark-Hunter series.  This one was ACHERON.  In all the previous books his character was weaved in and out, revealing a little snippet about him here and there, but never understanding or knowing who or what he truly was or how he came to be.  This has been the driving force behind how quickly I’ve been reading these books because I NEEDED to get to this book and know all about him. 

I started this 800 page book on Sunday night after our LOST party and I think I’ve picked it up every single free minute I’ve had.  Today I didn’t even eat, because I just had to finish the book, and now that I have I felt moved to post about it.  (Don’t worry, no spoilers)  This book broke my heart over and over again and I literally cringed and cried for him.  I gasped in surprise many times and I saw how his horrific past shaped Ash into the thoughtful and guarded and caring character that we’ve seen in the previous books.  This has been a book that I had been dying to read and now I love his character even more than I had before.  It shows that the “human” spirit can endure and love reigns supreme. 

So if you’re reading the series, hang on & don’t read them out of order because it would ruin the suspense you feel leading up to this book!  I also see that Sherrilyn Kenyon has finished this “arc” of the story  with Acheron at the center and has now introduced another character, Jaden.  He will be that mysterious type character for this next section of the series just as Ash was for the first 15 books and I’m excited to learn about him now!  Okay, only 3 more books until I’m caught up and waiting with the rest of the DH fans for the newest book, “No Mercy”, to release in 70 days.

Now I can’t wait to have the Acheron doll on my shelf with the book displayed behind him!

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in AshtonDrake Collaborations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ACHERON, MY LOVE

  1. Connie in PA says:

    Great review of Acheron! I’ve downloaded the books but haven’t started reading them yet.

    Do you know of a list of the order to read them in?

    Thanks for a great blog!

  2. shugashug says:

    Yes, here is the link for the reading order, just scroll to the very bottom. http://www.sherrilynkenyon.com/series.php?id=7#s_species The first book “fantasy lover” is more like a prequel, and has a different feel from the rest of the series (I actually read this book 2nd). So if you don’t care for it then just move on to Night Pleasures!

  3. Yvonne says:

    I totally understand you. My heart breaks everytime i read his story.

    Do you plan to read the Nick Gautier books?

  4. jenlem80 says:

    Acheron is my favorite book in the series! Infinity: The Chronicles of Nick came out yesterday. I went to the bookstore first thing in the morning and read the entire book in a couple of hours. If you like Nick, you have to read this book! It’s got several of the characters from the Dark Hunter series.

  5. shugashug says:

    Yes, I do plan to read the Chronicles of Nick! I’m excited about those too, but I’ve got to finish the last 3 DH books so I’m caught up and then I can start on those!

  6. Theresa says:

    Ooops, I read this book before I read any other dark hunter novels! 😉 It was quite good!

  7. Monica Juarbe says:

    I totally agree with your comment above. Acheron’s story left me sooooo sad for days, but also made me realized that no matter how bad things can get..there is no excuse to misbehave. We can actually do something good for humanity, no matter how we don’t deserve it.

    Thanks for your thoughts. I couldn’t agree more.

    MJ

  8. lisa johnson says:

    Where did you download the books from?

  9. shugashug says:

    That one book was only available for a limited time for download.

Leave a Reply

