Cruisin’ the Mexican Riviera

Well, I think I need a vacation from my vacation, LOL.  It was non-stop fun this past week onboard Royal Caribbean’s Mariner of the Seas.  Me & the hubby along with my brother & his wife had an amazing time & lots of laughs.  The ports of call were great & the boat was amazing!  This was the largest boat I’ve sailed on and this was my 6th cruise.  We booked inside cabins that overlooked the “promenade” that went along the center of the boat.  It’s basically a cobblestone street inside that has little cafes & pubs along it.  There were 3 parades along the promenade & it was great to just sit in our bay window & enjoy the parades.

There was tons to do on the ship, but I think our favorite was shuffleboard.  We had ongoing battles everyday onboard and it was girls vs. boys.  Unfortunately the boys seemed to win most of the time, but it was alot of fun.  Putt-putt, rock climbing, ice skating, inline skating & basketball were the other things we did quite a bit of onboard. 

So, I thought I’d share some photos here with you…

So, we get on board & head to our room and right as you enter the hallway I saw this!! Barbies doing stunts on the airplane!  My sister in law was excited for me, LOL.  But seriously, how perfect for a doll collector, right!  So I knew we were off to a great start!

Julep is excited to have this bay window overlooking the promenade of the ship.

I didn’t take my “real” camera, since the hubby didn’t want to haul it around, so I had to take a crappy point & shoot camera, so please excuse the not so great photos to come, but I was happy with this shot.

Me & the hubby after way too many drinks & PuttPutt battles, LOL.

First stop: Cabo San Lucas – absolutely gorgeous blue water, amazing beaches & rock formations.  Great little shopping district & restaurants.

Second stop: Mazatlan – It was an okay stop.  We didn’t do any excursions, so maybe it would’ve been better had we ventured out more, but instead we just went to the beach & rented jet ski’s and basically just hauled ass around the bay.  It was all fun until my sister in law rammed my brother’s with her jet ski, LOL.  She got a little crazy on it!

Here’s the hubby striking a pose on the beach in Mazatlan.

Third stop: Puerto Vallarta – definitely my favorite stop of the whole trip.  Gorgeous boardwalk along the beach, great shopping, very artsy area with galleries & sculptures.  Plus tons to do for excursions in the jungle.  We wanted to book the ATV adventure excursions, but we didn’t realize that everything was booked so far ahead of time, so when we went to book basically everything fun we wanted to do was sold out.  So we ended up having to book the “Outdoor Adventure”.  I think this one was still left because it was labeled “strenuous” and it was the most expensive, LOL. 

So we decided to go for it.  Let me just say that I am glad that I started working out again a few months ago because I don’t know if I would’ve made it.  We couldn’t bring anything with us so unfortunately there are no pictures  but it was absolutely breathtaking there.  We took a high speed Zodiac boat across the bay then went by convoy in these military style vehicles up the mountain and into the jungle.  Then when we couldn’t go by vehicle anymore, we were moved onto mules to head up a path even higher & deeper into the jungle.  We then arrived at an area where we zip-lined through the jungle canopy.  The last zip-line was a 45 degree angle straight down off a cliff into water.  I looked down and was like “are you kidding me!?!”  The tour guides were gracious enough to yank down on the line just before you hit the water so you basically cannonballed into the lake.  Yeah, thanks for that.  Then we rappeled down some rock faces alongside waterfalls.  Yeah, hardcore for someone like me who’s afraid of heights.  Then we did some free fall type rapelling to get back down to our donkeys.  Again, from HIGH up.  It was exciting & lots of fun, but I was sore for 3 days afterwards.  I still don’t know how I got talked into that, LOL.

Here is the “Malecon” boardwalk in Puerto Vallarta.

Back on the boat now for 2 days heading back to LA.  Here’s the “promenade” where there were parades every other night.

Julep really loved the towel animals each night, LOL.

Ahhh, the final sunset of our trip…

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cruisin’ the Mexican Riviera

  1. hunnipot85 says:

    Looks like you three had a blast Shugey! 😉
    Can’t wait to catch up!!

    xoxo

  2. valmaxi says:

    I’ve never been on a cruise, thanks for the chance to live a bit vicariously through you. You & hubby are very cute !

  3. Terri Gold says:

    That was fun. The excursion sans camera sounds scary. Glad you made it. You must be in great shape.

    Terri

  4. shugashug says:

    LOL – Yeah I couldn’t imagine lugging a camera around through the waterfalls & zip lines. let’s just say I’m getting into shape. Been working out since February and have lost 10 pounds and am feeling stronger!

Leave a Reply

