Sharing some knowledge

Well, just thought I’d share some stuff with ya’ll since I’m home sick.  My husband was actually sick for about 9 days the other week (and he refused to let me needle him or take herbs – yes, he’s stubborn & afraid of needles!).  Well, I was resisting the sickness for awhile, but it finally overtook me yesterday.  Luckily I’ve got plenty of herbs & I can actually needle myself (in the areas I can reach LOL) so today I feel quite a bit better, but I know tomorrow it should be behind me. 

Anyway, after my being sick for 2 days vs. my husband with the same virus for 9 days, I just wanted to share a little about Chinese Medicine since that is what I’m studying & seeing the actual results of on my clinic shifts.  There is a formula called Yu Ping Feng San that is translated as “Jade Windscreen”.  This is an AWESOME formula to take during the flu season to boost your immune system.  Actually many of the ingredients in Airborne are based on this chinese herbal formula.  This formula can be taken for an extended amount of time & I take it from about October through Feb/Mar.  The last 2 years I didn’t fall sick to any flu despite the fact that the entire winter semesters I was treating patients every week with all forms of the flu.  It’s also a great formula to begin taking about a week before flying so you don’t get sick from traveling.

Jade Windscreen should only be taken when you are well in order to boost the immune system.  Once you feel like you are coming down with something (cold or flu) you should stop taking this formula until you are well again.  The idea is that this is a “tonifying” formula and so you do not want to “tonify” your sickness, make it stronger & sink it deeper into your body.  The other reason I like chinese herbs is that they are cheap (unlike western meds). 

If you are interested in ordering, you can order through this company without an account (because there are many herbal formulas that you need an acupuncture license to order):  http://www.chineseherbsdirect.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=yu+ping+feng+san&osCsid=ea1b41d185c7cac9d6d1eca4d9816822&x=13&y=11

If you’re interested in the biomedical – this formula increases IgG and IgA production, which your immune system needs in order to function at its maximum.  It also inhibits the growth of certain influenza viruses and enhances macrophage function.  Chinese health authorities recommended this formula to the public for prevention of SARS a few years ago during the SARS scare.  Hmm, I may do this more often if my readers are interested!  Might as well use this blog to teach every now & then, LOL. 

 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sharing some knowledge

  1. Maryann Roy says:

    You are SO SMART! Thanks for the info. I’m going to look into this!

  2. aminie says:

    Are you sure you don’t want to move to Montreal? I could use someone like you year round lol!

    Hey btw, I realised after being back from FR that what made me look like I was super sick was actually just exhaustion. Is there anything you suggest when sleeping seems not to be enough? I have to make sure I do better this year since I had to miss an exam when I came back. Was so exhausted that I had nausea, dizziness and an out of nowhere sinusitis lol

  3. shugashug says:

    I would LOVE to move to Montreal, LOL. The hubby & I love cold weather and wonder everyday (well mostly in the summer) how we ended up in So Cal… I emailed you directly about getting you a formula.

  4. nevraforever says:

    Ah cool! Thanks for the tip, shug! Nowadays, its nice to do it naturally than using these other drugs with the dangerous side effects. Practical and effective is the way to go.

  5. Mari L says:

    Awww Shug!!! You are such a sweetie. My hubby is into a natural lifestyle (I don’t know how he married a junk food junkie like me!), and I will pass along the info.

  6. Sunnybug says:

    I always appreciate knowledge! Lol. I also enjoy seeing you variety of dolls!

    Any Chinese herbs for fibromyalgia?

  7. shugashug says:

    Hi Sunnybug! I am actually treating a patient with fibromyalgia who comes in when her symptoms flareup. I haven’t given her any herbs, but the acupuncture treatments seem to help her out.

Leave a Reply

