ARE YOU READY FOR A GAMBLE?

Here I am, presented with ANOTHER dolly-gamble.  Oh, the stress of deciding what to do….   So, every year there is an Australian event called Dollz in Oz.  This year’s event will take place on Saturday March 27th and will include an FR event doll plus a companion doll (which has not been confirmed yet as to whether that is FR too). It will be held at the Sheraton Four Points Darling Harbour.

Collector Cottage is preselling “Absentee” packages for those of you interested enough to take that gamble!  The event package is $295 AUD (so that’s $274 USD), which includes the event doll plus all the free goodies from the event.  If you’d like to add the companion doll that is an additional $209.99 AUD (that’s $195 USD). 

If you’d like to purchase in any combination click HERE.  As soon as I can verify whether the companion doll is FR or not, I will post & let you know. 

Personally I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  Last year I didn’t care for either Agnes doll (FireFly and High Gloss) and there were plenty left for a WClub lottery.  Then again, my gamble REALLY paid off with the Dollystyle Japan Convention where I got my Night Warrior Vanessa.  I will at least wait until I hear whether the companion doll is FR too…

 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Fashion Royalty and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ARE YOU READY FOR A GAMBLE?

  1. LauraLA says:

    Wow, only YOU could get this post up so quickly after a killer 9-9 day!!! I almost feel like I could skip to W Club (just kidding) ’cause your timely updates keep everyone in the loop.

  2. shugashug says:

    LOL, hey – Dollies help me decompress after a long day of clinic shifts!! This was an outlet from my crazy day! I did notice no one posted on WClub, but I will leave that for someone else. I’m just afraid if I wait to long to make a decision the packages will sell out….

  3. jeff says:

    CURSE YOU!!!! LOL!

    I just pre-ordered the absentee set!

    I have high gloss from the Dolls in Oz event from a couple years back and love her (my first Aggie) and traded for 2 Night Warriors.

    So I’m throwing caution to the wind.

    I didn’t order companion doll, too hurried…maybe I can add on later…

    Thanks for the scoop…

  4. Terri/NY says:

    Christina:
    Last year the Oz doll was a Tonner Doll Co. Sydney Chase wearing a white & black dress with a huge hat. If I had pre-ordererd her, I would have been very, very disappointed. The Agnes dolls were the year before and I loved them. I don’t know what to do either. I was lucky with Knight Warrior as I was able to get her for an excellent price from someone who had been in Japan for the event. I think I will wait. It’s easier these days to get FR dolls. I don’t know if you know what it was like in the past. It was terribly difficut if you did not have a dedicated dealer. I don’t miss those days.

    Cheers Matey,
    Terri

  5. shugashug says:

    Thanks Terri! That’s good to know! I was wondering if the companion would even be an FR doll or not, so I guess it’s possible we could get a Tonner doll. I agree with you about its easier to obtain them after the event than in years past, which is one of the reasons I am going to pass on this offer. If I see them & love them, then I’ll find one.

  6. jeff says:

    Yes, it is easier to wait, but who knows what secondary market prices you are going to be waiting for…$$$$

    If you order at least the basic set, you have one doll and all the freebies that the convention goers receive at a set price.

    Even taking the gamble and purchasing the as of yet known, companion doll, you’re still purchasing them at set prices.

    once the dolls are on the secondary market, all bets are off.

    My Oz Agnes was nude when I bought her and I recall still paying a pretty penny for her.

    So let’s say the convention doll isn’t to your liking. Then you can sell her at the secondary mark up price.

    So really, buying the absentee package isn’t all that of a gamble. You will receive at least a doll, that you will either like or not like.

    The real gamble is the price you pay when the dolls starting hitting ebay and the like.

  7. shugashug says:

    Very true Jeff! I think I’m just going to go for the event doll. My personal guess is the companion won’t be from the FR line, but will be a FR Monogram, especially since Jason will be there & that line is his baby. I’m picky about which Monograms I like, but the FR would be a good gamble.

  8. jeff says:

    Come to the darkside!!!!

  9. Paris W says:

    Ayayay, I just ordered both dolls!
    I’m sure they’re fabulous … (meaning I HOPE they’re Fabulous). *fingers crossed*

  10. shugashug says:

    I’m sure they’ll both be fabulous!! I’m still hoping that the event doll package will be availabe in a few weeks. I won’t have extra money until then…

Leave a Reply

