Musings…

Well, I’m on the precipice of diving into a new line of dolls.  I’ve been contemplating several lines and after alot of time pouring over flickr photos, searching old threads, researching companies, etc. I have narrowed it down to 3 choices, all of which are 16″ BJD’s  – I absolutely love some looks of the larger ones but just can’t see myself buying a doll 2 feet tall or larger!?!?  Yikes – my hubby would be afraid of it!  What I have discovered is that it’s hard to find a more mature face on a smaller body.  There are great faces on 27″ & taller dolls, but most of the 16″ ones are more childlike.

So over the next couple of days I will make a decision.  I just felt like if I wrote out my pros & cons here it would help me make a decision & if anyone out there has any input it would be greatly appreciated! 

Option 1:  Dollmore’s Fashion Doll “Yvonne” ($314)

Pros: 

  • She will fit into Tonner clothing & possibly AG’s
  • She will be able to share AG wigs (sz 4/5)
  • She is customizable with wigs/eyes

Cons:

  • There is only 1 other doll in this line that I like (Sara)
  • I don’t know if they will be making more of this line
  • In some pics her head looks a little small on her body
  • Cost

**Photo below is property of Dollmore**

Option 2: Iplehouse’s “I”  ($362)

Pros:

  • Absolutely gorgeous & stunning faceup!
  • I’d easily buy several more dolls from this company (which could be a con, LOL)
  • Customizable with wigs & eyes

Cons:

  • A tad more childlike than I wanted, but she could give great variation to my collection
  • Head is larger (wig size 7) & will need to buy new clothes for her
  • Cost

**Photo below is property of Iplehouse**

Option 3:  Bobobie’s “Mei” or “Espree”  ($148)

Pros:

  • Cost!
  • She’s super cute & unlike anything in my collection
  • Could be a great starter BJD

Cons:

  • Deciding whether to go fantasy with this line (she has elf ears)
  • There are only the 2 in this line that I like (Mei & Espree)
  • Will need to buy new wardrobe for her & wigs (sz 6/7)

**Photo below is property of Bobobie & is NOT how I’d order her

I’d order her with tan skin & normal eyes**

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Musings…

  1. Matt says:

    I’d defintely go to Zone of Zen (http://zoneofzen.com/)

    Register and ask around, it’s totally the place to go for BJDs/FBJDs! All are very helpful and can totally enable you/answer any questions you may have!
    XO
    M

  2. Yvonne says:

    Yvonne is beautiful. Of course, i might be biased. lol

  3. Catherine says:

    Congrats Shug on narrowing down your selection! I love your analysis and think you will be so happy with your 16” beauty.

    I vote for Dollmore Yvonne! I had an MSD at one time and Dollmore’s service and quality of clothing in that particular size were outstanding. I also like their website and points earned on the items you purchase.

    But I sure don’t think you can go wrong with any of your fab top three.

    On a side note, thanks so much for the earlier post on Dollystyle’s Make Your Own Doll! This is great….can’t wait to do it.

    Best Wishes on Your Purchase….can’t wait to hear all about it.

  4. A says:

    Before finding FR’s, BJD’s were something I was heavily looking into, but never actually started with sue to the sheer cost of them, but as you pointed out, the custom ability for these BJD’s is almost limitless.

    eBay is an awesome place for custom wigs and gowns and shoes and almost everything for the BJD’s and can be quite cheap too. I think the biggest outlay you’ll come across is the start up price for the doll with the face-up.

    With your concerns about the young looking faces, you may be able to ‘age’ them with a different face-up. There are a heap of artists out there offering their services. My suggestion, do some research, see the work, see what you like!

    Good luck and can’t wait to see what you decide!

  5. Alison says:

    Love your top three choices!

    I’ll bring my Bobobie Lan with me to the doll meet on the 23rd. I also have a SoulDoll Amy who is comparable in price to right between your other two choices, so we can compare the differences between a $300 and a $150 doll, but most of the difference lies in where the doll is manufactured.

    I’d highly recommend you check out the web for real-life photos of these dolls, also, if you haven’t already. There can be some pretty serious differences between promotional photos and real-life photos, as with any doll company. Plus, you can get the feel of what a doll can look like with different face-ups and wigs, etc.

    My collection includes a little bit of everything–from Tonner Dolls, to Fashion Royalty girls, to BJDs of all shapes and sizes–and while it’s great when they can share clothes, to me it’s fun to get to shop for new sizes. 🙂

  6. shugashug says:

    Thanks everyone for your input! I’m getting very close to making my decision. I just know that it’s that slippery slope that I’m getting on & so when I buy one I’m sure shortly thereafter more of them will be coming home, LOL

Leave a Reply

