2 DAYS & COUNTING

OMG!!! I can literally feel the excitement building inside of me like a volcano!  How am I going to get through my clinic shift & class tomorrow knowing that most of my tablemates are flying to Chicago while I have to wait another day….arrrrgggghhhh….At least today I’m occupied with packing & making lists & getting things in order before I leave.

2. Fancy Tables & Fun New Friends

This was one of the most unexpected things for me at last year’s convention!  I went alone, although through the boards I found a roomate to share a room with (whom I had never met)!  I’m not a super outgoing person, I tend to be the quiet one listening more than talking, so needless to say I was nervous!  But that all went away so quickly!  I arrived in Pittsburgh, checked in at the hotel, went up to my room & had the warmest greeting ever by a stranger (thank you Louise for being so great!).  Within minutes the conversation went to dolls & which ones were our favorites, yada, yada, yada.  Instantly we became great friends!

Then at the opening dinner on Thursday night the same thing happened at the table with my tablemates! It’s amazing how quickly you bond with others who share the same hobby, especially since we’re all crazy over these dolls, LOL.  Since last year we have all stayed in touch & most of us are back together again this year & sharing our table with a few new friends!  I really had the most amazing time with everyone last year!

And the fancy tables! This was unexpected!  I must admit to everyone now that the most fun thing in planning my wedding was deciding on table linens, LOL.  There was so many awesome combos that I wanted to use, but alas I had to just pick one.  So I was excited to see that at every event the tables were decorated so nicely!   And the final night blew me away – yes, I guess I’m easily pleased.  But to me it really just made the event that much nicer, like I was at some awesome fancy wedding or banquet!  What I really liked was the low lighting and getting dressed up for the events.  I liked the cocktail hour beforehand when everyone is gathered around the closed ballroom doors and you can feel the excitement building from everyone around you!  Then the doors open & you enter into this lovely room with all these amazing tables!  And then sitting in the middle of your table is an amazing doll and at your seat are tons of free gifts – what could be better?!?!  Oh yeah – how about an ice sculpture!

Here’s the table from the Thursday Night Dinner

night1

Here’s the final night dinner – look at Vanessa up there!!! And our plates full of gifts!

finalnight

 

Yes, even the dessert had the cool “W” logo!!

wcake

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in Fashion Royalty Convention and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

