I’m into a new line…

Well, I thought I’d share with all of you the new line I am starting to collect.

Umm, yeah, I’m totally kidding.  This one actually gave me chills, and not in a good way.  I saw women carrying these realistic babies around too, cuddling them, burping them, strapped into carriers on their chests, etc.  I was really looking forward to seeing this phenomenon ever since I heard about it last year.  Well, now I’ve seen it and I cannot un-burn the images from my brain.  You know I don’t like to really talk negatively about other people’s collecting choices because I believe “to each, his own”, but this has been a little creepy for me today.

The above doll in particular really creeped me out because I felt it was the most realistic.  The shading on the skin, the tiny fingernails, the veins beneath the skin were all too real for my taste.  On a movie set is the only place I feel they belong, not in the arms of women pretending that they are real.  Maybe I just don’t get it?  The realism is appreciated – that is pure artistic detail in my eyes, so I guess I’ll just leave it at that.

Okay, I will be uploading Integrity pics from my cellphone to Flickr tomorrow afternoon and then the “real” camera pics can’t be uploaded until later in the evening because I couldn’t connect to a wireless network at the event (believe me, I tried!), but at least you’ll have some closeup of the IT dolls on display early enough.  I also have 2 workshops tomorrow too, so I’ll post when I get a chance.  The link to my flickr is just above on the right column.

 

About Shuga-Shug

I'm a practicing acupuncturist and in what little spare time I have, my hobbies include photography, dancing the Argentine Tango & collecting Ingerity's line of fashion dolls!
This entry was posted in IDEX and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m into a new line…

  1. Adam says:

    Oh yeah, that thing is solidly entrenched in the Uncanny Valley. Creepy!

  2. Betzaida says:

    You scared me there!! I actually see this on the airplane. Tbe really scary part is when the people seem to forget they are dolls and start requesting stuff for their “baby”. :0

  3. Andrew S. says:

    those seriously creep me out too. like a LOT. I saw a video somewhere where some of the owners like, put make-up on them and have diapers and baby food for them.

    O.O

    O.o

  4. Megan says:

    I read an article about them in a magazine and some women who have lost babies use them as surrogates, which is totally understandable (to me).

  5. LauraLA says:

    I’m waiting for pictures of the monkey preemies. . .

  6. dal L. says:

    When a doll starts to look like a real frozen baby I think it’s time to rethink collecting them. This one is bizarrely too human and not in a good way.

  7. shugashug says:

    Yeah, jenn and I have been calling them dead babies instead of reborns.

  8. ChattyKevin says:

    AH!

  9. JennFL says:

    I dunno, Shuga….I think that dead baby would look great displayed next to BG Poppy. ROFLMAO!

Leave a Reply

